I can do what I want… or can I?

There is this idea going around lately, well, for a while but it is this thought, an answer to everything we want to do goes like this:
“It’s my body and I can do what I want.” or, “It’s my life I can do what I want.”
And these are Christians I am hearing say this. I expect it from the world, but from a Christian? Guess it should not surprise me, I have thought the same thing at times. It sometimes feels like it justifies a decision we know is not quite up to par.

But is this really true? 1 Corinthians 6:19 &20 tells us otherwise.

“What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.”

So, what do you think? Do you really belong to yourself? It’s a hard one to swallow isn’t it? We are a proud people… but if we are not careful, we will find ourselves in places we did not really intend to go.

Share with me what you think, I would love to hear from you.

4 comments

  1. Richard Brewster · August 14, 2011

    We are not our own. We are slaves of Christ obedient to Him.

  2. DRIA WALKER · August 14, 2011

    You, Miss Hannah, are a very wise young lady! What a good perspective to have at your beautiful time of life when it is SO counterculture. Thank you for the reminder and the encouraging example you are to those of us raising daughters that they too can follow in the ways of the Lord as you do. Richest Blessings today! Mrs. Dria (Helena, MT)

  3. Sammy Awami · October 6, 2011

    Good Challenge, Hannah! I think, most of the time (if not always) we know what the truth is, of who do we belong to, and thats why we try and find justification(s) like “Its my body, so I can do whatever I want”

    Thnx for sharing. Blessings

    Sammy

  4. Danielle · November 17, 2011

    I totally agree with you on this one, girl. There’s another verse that I read a while ago that had a similar message. Basically saying that we shouldn’t be doing, saying, or participating in anything that we would not want to invite Christ to.

    Definitely contrary to popular opinion. But a very core issue that affects many areas of our lives.

Leave a Reply

